We are proud to announce our latest digital release from Darlington’s kings and queens of funk and jazz Weekend Sun. “Feeling Inside” is a disco/funk dancefloor bomb with a strong female lead vocal and a funk-filled live disco backing. Remixes come from Jonny Crawshaw/Jonny Makes Beats from Give It Some!, Renegades of Jazz and Hero No.7.

Check out snippets below or download it now from Hero Records’ Online Store.

Also available on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, etc from November 4th.

Information about this release

Weekend Sun on Facebook
Weekend Sun on Twitter

Weekend Sun are back with a live disco funk track that is already going down well in the clubs and is a firm favourite in their livesets. Disco breaks, live bass and guitars, driving percussion and a strong female vocal all contribute to another great track from Weekend Sun. If you’re not all funked out after grooving away to the original version then Hero Records have added a few extra remixes for your listening and dancing pleasure.

Jonny Crawshaw, the DJ formerly known as Red6 (Give It Some! / 100% Dynamite! / Solid Steel), has rocked parties the length and breadth of the UK and produced for artists including Livesciences, Profisee, Mikel Krumins, Glengyle Palace Sound and Big Hand. This, however, is his debut remix! Taking the steppers sound of Roots Reggae as a starting point Jonny has reworked Feeling Inside into a quasi-dubstep neo-disco collision of niceness.

David Hanke aka Renegades of Jazz is a prolific producer, remixer and one half of Hero Records’ Mash & Munkee who has released a well-received album and a handful of singles on Smoove’s Wass Records as well as remixing the likes of Kid Loco, Nick Pride & The Pimptones, Basement Freaks, Hidden Jazz Quartet, Savages Y Suefo, Skeewiff & The Colman Brothers. His remix of ‘Feeling Inside’ is his second remix for Weekend Sun (the first being ‘You’re Good To Me’) and add uptempo breaks and a driving funk bassline to produce another northern jazz dancefloor destroyer!

Hero Records’ label bosses Hero No.7 are last up to bring a hard hitting b-boy funk edge to the disco and flavours of the original version. Keeping the music stripped back to highlight the strong vocals and percussion and whilst adding new b-boy drumbreaks and distorting the bass the Heroes subtle changes really bring out the funk whilst still keeping it strong for the dancefloor.

Ending with a bonus instrumental of Jonny’s remix this digital-only package is set for release in late October 2013 before Weekend Sun unveal their debut album in early 2014 full of choice funk, reggae, disco and hip hop influenced tracks. We here at Hero Records have heard a sneak preview and we can say you’re all in for a treat once the album is released 🙂


1. Weekend Sun – Feeling Inside
2. Weekend Sun – Feeling Inside (Jonny Makes Beats Refix)
3. Weekend Sun – Feeling Inside (Renegades of Jazz Remix)
4. Weekend Sun – Feeling Inside (Hero No.7 Remix)
5. Weekend Sun – Feeling Inside (Jonny Makes Beats Refix Instrumental)

Catalgoue Number [HRD001]

Weekend Sun on Facebook
Weekend Sun on Twitter