New 7″ from Frameworks & QNC + CD album from Mash & Munkee

Sorry for the lack of updates people but we are busy working away on a lot of new releases and first of are proud to announce that we have a brand new limited 7″ from Frameworks featuring QNC (aka Q-Ball & Curt Cazal from the might JVC FORCE) and our first album from the ever reliable Mash & Munkee available now. Read about them below and buy them here.

Frameworks featuring QNC “Ain’t No Use” b/w “Classic” [HR007S]

After a busy 2011 releasing a series of limited edition vinyl 7″ singles Hero Records are back for 2012 with more fat beats and funky grooves.

Kicking things off in fine style is a new single from Frameworks & QNC that we are very excited about. On this dope double-sider of classic hip hop, Manchester producer Matt “Frameworks” Brewer is joined by no-less than legendary New York MCs QNC (aka Q-Ball & Curt Cazal of J.V.C. F.O.R.C.E. fame) to bless his dope beats with their amazing lyrical skills and microphone techniques. Featuring the funk-filled “Ain’t No Use” and the heavier head-nodder “Classic” on the limited edition 7″ vinyl as well as the added bonus of the instrumentals and acapellas on the digital release this single is a must for fans of proper hip hop the way it should be done.

QNC should need no introduction but if you have been hiding under a rock for the last 25 years then they have released singles on seminal labels such as Gee Street and D&D as well as the album “Dynamic Duo” on Grand Central and have been featured on releases by the likes of Aim and Rae & Christian. Phew! Not to be outdone by his MCs, Frameworks will be doing his best to catch up in 2012 by releasing the downtempo Vanish EP featuring vocalists Sabira Jade and Ríoghnach Connolly on First Word Records and an album alongside Blu Rum 13 on My First Moth Records as well as this single full of funky, summery hip hop vibes and dope beats on Hero Records.

Funky & fresh for 2012. Support the artists, buy new music!


Frameworks featuring QNC – Ain’t No Use [limited 7″ vinyl]
1. Ain’t No Use [*]
2. Classic

Frameworks featuring QNC – Ain’t No Use [digital download]
1. Ain’t No Use [*]
2. Ain’t No Use (Instrumental) [*]
3. Ain’t No Use (Acapella)
4. Classic
5. Classic (Instrumental)
6. Classic (Acapella)

[*] Cuts on “Ain’t No Use” by Omas (My First Moth).

Released on 16 July 2012 on limited edition 7″ vinyl via Kudos Distribution. Digital download available from iTunes and all good online digital retailers.

Mash & Munkee “We Like It Like That” [HR008CD]

Following swiftly on the heels of our latest 7″ vinyl releases Hero Records are proud to present our first full length CD album. And what an album it is!

Ladies and gentleman introducing the long-awaited debut LP from the kings of all things funky, Mash & Munkee, “We Like It Like That”.

Mash & Munkee are Kolja Starkowski (aka Deli-Kutt) and David Hanke (aka Unifairfly/Renegades of Jazz) and are based in Wuppertal and near Hamburg, Germany. Kolja was DJing and David was running a radio show before they met online at the record database site Discogs and, after discovering a common taste in music, teamed up to form Mash & Munkee. The rest, as they say, is history!

After a series of well-received singles on labels such as Backslide, Jack To Phono, Funk Weapon and of course Hero Records they spent time compiling and remastering the best of these releases and writing new tracks to compliment them and ended up with this amazing debut album. Taking musical influences from all over the world this album contains the straight up funk of the single “Superbad” and the scratch-filled b-boy grooves of “Here We Come!” together with afrobeat and latin influenced groovers such as “Kibo” and “Venga Veras”. From downtempo hip hop head-nodders like “Mexican B-Boy” to the faster tempos of the dancefloor-filling nu-funk of “Make A Difference” this album encompasses all that we at Hero Records love about music. Available as a very limited CD with collectable 6-panel digifile sleeve and digital download this album is destined to be a smash hit with lovers of everything funky.

An album chock full of feelgood summer vibes and happy grooves. What more can we say …….. WE LIKE IT LIKE THAT!

“We Like It Like That” [HR008CD]
1. Here We Come [*][+]
2. Superbad [*]
3. Hold It Down [*][$]
4. Get It Together
5. Kibo [%][@]
6. The Good Vibe
7. Mexican B-Boy [+][@]
8. Wake Up
9. Make A Difference [+][=]
10. Sunny Day [*][#]
11. Point Vista
12. Venga Veras

[*] Bass by Alexander Bednasch
[$] Guitar by Alexander Bednasch
[+] Cuts & Scratches by Koljeticut
[%] Bass by Boris Stein
[@] Guitar by Boris Stein
[%] Additional Keyboards by Christian Wolf
[=] Flute by Davy Wilde
[#] Guitars by Andre Sudradjat & Phil Miller

Release date – 25 June 2012. Limited edition CD released via Kudos Distribution. Digital download available from iTunes and all good online digital retailers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.